Enhancing My Creativity And Reducing Financial Anxiety

In my travels last week I journeyed to Buffalo, New York for a two day workshop on creativity and followed that up with a seminar in Santa Fe, New Mexico. No, I didn’t rack up frequent flyer miles as these treks were done virtually.

The webinar in Buffalo was at Buffalo State University, State University of New York (SUNY). It was the annual Creativity Expert Exchange and attended by creators from around the country and the globe. It was put on by the Center for Applied Imagination.

Some of the topics included Creative Thinking in Organizations, Changing your Mindset with Creativity, Developing Curiosity and Imagination Skills, Creative Thinking Skills to Help Increase Motivation, and Intuition and Creativity. Who knows, I may yet opt for a Master of Science from the university.

My journey then took me to Santa Fe, New Mexico for a Saturday webinar presented by Peleg Top on the topic of “Overcoming Money Anxiety in Uncertain Times”. I’ve attended several webinars hosted by Peleg and this one was as formidable as the previous ones.

About the workshop, Peleg states . . .

“Money anxiety is a profound emotional response that can affect every aspect of our lives. As creatives, we are uniquely positioned to tackle this anxiety not through conventional means, but by tapping into our inherent creative strengths and emotional intelligence.

But have you ever paused to ask yourself “where these feelings come from?

The first step in overcoming money anxiety is recognizing its source. For many of us creatives, financial insecurity is deeply tied to our sense of self-worth and identity. If deep down inside we don’t actually believe we are worthy of financial wealth, and we continuously compare ourselves to others, the feeling of inadequacy and imposter syndrome will trigger our anxiety when it comes to money.

The next crucial step is to shift your mindset and way of being from scarcity to abundance. And the best place to start this journey is reconnecting with your “Soul Artist” – your authentic creative self.

Your Soul Artist is the inner voice that fuels your creativity and imagination. In times of financial stress, it’s easy to let fear and self-doubt silence this voice. Reawakening your Soul Artist involves nurturing your creativity, allowing it to guide you through the emotional turmoil of money anxiety.

Creativity is not just a tool for producing art. Creativity is a mechanism for problem-solving and emotional resilience. When faced with financial uncertainty, leveraging your creativity can transform anxiety into action.

When your Soul Artist is alive and well, it will act as a shield against anxiety and worries because it will be the louder voice you hear, motivating you, inspiring you and moving you into activating your creativity to face any financial hurdle.

This might mean exploring new avenues for your work, adapting your skills to new markets, or even using your creative talents to support your community. These actions not only help mitigate financial stress but also reinforce your identity as a creative professional.”

In one of two exercises we did, Peleg asked us to complete the sentence, “When it comes to money, I’m afraid that . . .” We were given about eight minutes to complete as many of these thoughts as time allowed.

The second part of this first exercise had us select one of the previously written statements and explore possible solutions and to be specific. For example, I wrote “When it comes to money, I’m afraid that I’ll never realize a life of abundance.” One of my solutions was “there are other things in life beside money; what can I do to enjoy life more; I have my stories to finish and to develop more and turn them into a book.”

The second exercise had us draw a picture on a page in our journal/journey book in and around the mantra statement “Things are always working out for me.” In my case, I added the sentiment “Believe it and believe in myself. OK?” Tear it from your book and take it with you wherever you go; make as many copies as you want.

Where will my journey take me this week? I have no idea. Maybe, just maybe, I’ll have along with me some additional tools to aid me in my travels. Regardless, that’s the way I need to think so I can act accordingly.

Hopefully making a ruckus, one blog post at a time!

Be sure to check out my other blog, Ideasnmoreblog, for a different kind of playground for creativity, innovation and inspiring stuff.

And, check out various creative selections from ideasnmore.net.

Jolan tru!

Leave a comment