Hello World. I’m Still Here.

WHEW! It’s hard to believe it’s been several months since I last posted something here on Joe’s Journey. Lots has happened, some good, some not so much.

Short of boring some of you to tears, I’ll bring you up to date as best I can over the next few posts, while still providing some interesting tidbits and my take on very unfortunate events.

As for my health, I’m doing much better than several months ago. I was recently declared in remission from CLL (Leukemia), at least for the present time. My aches and pains from my neck and lower back (injured when Pam suffered her stroke) and my mental state from dealing with the medical profession and health insurance companies is another matter entirely!

As you can tell from what you’ve read thus far, there are probably several blog posts already writing themselves based on what I’ve said. More on that later.

Carl Jung

Recently, I had the pleasure of attending a multi-day workshop on “Composing Your Life” by my friend, Felix Scardino, LCSW. It was held at the jung Center on Montrose in Houston, Texas. (BTW, I’ve seen “jung” spelled both “jung” and “Jung.” Go figure. Also, the dude at left is Carl Gustav Jung. Anyone who wears one’s glasses on one’s forehead, has gotta know something, right?)

Excerpting from Felix’s introduction to the course/workshop, “I believe there is a wellspring of ideas and meaning within ourselves that we do not create, and from which all of our creations flow. That part of ourselves has a force, a path, an intention of its own and is always seeking creative expression. Whether you are stuck in indecision, grieving a loss, or searching for your niche, the course is designed to unblock the activity of that life giving source.”

I had participated some years ago in a workshop, also in the Jung Center, lead by Felix. It dealt with imaging and its role in creativity. So, at this juncture in my life with my devotion to and passion for creativity, I was encouraged when I heard that Felix was leading this new one. Plus, it’s based on his book, “The Pebble and the Canyon,” which I’m re-reading.

Pebble Book Image 2

Every once in awhile, we feel at a crossroads. That’s where I am now. At least it feels that way. Most people my age normally would be preparing (looking forward to) retirement. I can’t afford to retire! Plus, I’d go stare-crazy doing nothing. Yet, I feel I need to do some major tweaking in my life, given what has happened over the last year or two.

Hence, the workshop as part of the tweak.

That part of ourselves has a force, a path . . . and is always seeking creative expression. To this end, one of the exercises we practiced during this weekend affair dealt with having a safe place to think and be. Quoting from Joseph Campbell, “You must have a room, or a certain hour or so a day, where you don’t know what was in the newspapers that morning, you don’t know who your friends are, you don’t know what you owe anybody, you don’t know what anybody owes you. This is a place where you can simply experience and bring forth what you are and what you might be. This is the place of creative incubation. At first you may find that nothing happens there. But if you have a sacred place and use it, something eventually will happen.”

I have a sacred place (we all do), both in my home and in my mind. I must, again, use both to assist me in my travels to get clarity of thought, peace of mind and nourishment for my soul. Please, join me on this continued journey as I hope to inspire my own creativity within so as to create as I have not created before.

That, while keeping life’s potholes to a minimum!

Leave a Reply

